Skip to Content

Professor K.K. DuVivier Wins 2019 Clyde O. Martz Teaching Award

Back to Article Listing


Sturm College of Law

Article  •

Denver Law Professor K.K. DuVivier has been named as The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation 2019 Clyde O. Martz Teaching Award winner.

“A primary mission of the Foundation is to promote the teaching of the law of oil and gas, mining, water, public lands, energy, environmental protection, international, and other related areas of natural resources law. The greatest source of encouragement of this knowledge is through inspiration instilled by professors and other teachers of natural resources law,” said the foundation in a release.

James R. Rasband, Brigham Young University (BYU) J. Reuben Clark Law School, also received the award.

K.K. DuVivier

After practicing natural resources law with two Denver firms and working as an Assistant City Attorney, K.K. DuVivier joined the full-time faculty at the University of Denver Sturm College of Law in 1990. She has received a number of accolades for her teaching and scholarship at the University of Denver, including AALS DU Teacher of the Year, Mentorship Award, Hughes-Ruud Research Professor, and the Sturm Faculty Excellence Award for “Best Professor.” Professor DuVivier has served as the Director of the University of Denver’s Environmental and Natural Resources Law Program and taught Energy Law, Renewable Energy Law, Civil Procedure, Mining Law, and Environmental Law. She also has taught energy and renewable energy courses as a visiting professor at Lewis and Clark Law School and at the University of Houston Law Center.

Professor DuVivier is the author of two books, The Renewable Energy Reader (2011), and Energy Law Basics (Carolina 2017). She has served as a Trustee of the Foundation; the Chair of the Association of American Law Schools Natural Resources and Energy Section; and the Vice-Chair of both the Renewable, Alternative, and Distributed Energy Resources Committee and the Hard Minerals Committee of the Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources (SEER) of the American Bar Association (ABA). She continues to present in numerous national and international forums and has published over one hundred articles in bar journals and law reviews.

Clyde O. Martz Teaching Award

Clyde O. Martz, the eighth president of the Foundation, was a teacher whose casebook pioneered teaching the law of natural resources development as a whole, and who made many other contributions to the growth and stature of the Foundation, including editing the first edition of the American Law of Mining. In 1993 the Trustees of the Foundation established the Clyde O. Martz Teaching Award to honor those who have performed meritorious teaching in natural resources law to students either in a classroom setting or at courses sponsored by the Foundation or other not-for-profit organizations. Excellence in teaching performance is the primary criterion for the award, and consideration is given to the fostering of a broad understanding of the law, mentoring of students, and innovative style.